Japan COVID – 19 Update

Effective 21 March, travelers from the following countries face new travel restrictions: The Schengen states, Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, the UK and Vatican. The validity of single or multiple-entry visa issued by March 20 by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General in the above countries cannot be activated until the end of April.

Visa exemption measures will be gradually suspended for the above countries until the end of April. Entry is suspended for holders of single or multiple-entry visas issued by 20 March by Japanese consulates in the above countries, and nationals of the above countries for whom visa exemption measures have been suspended. Those traveling from the above countries, including foreign residents of Japan, will be asked to self-quarantine on arrival for 14 days. Entry is also suspended for travelers confirmed to be infected with COVID-19. Effective 9 March, all visas issued at the Japanese consulates in China and South Korea are invalid for entry, and these consulates will stop accepting visa applications. Also effective 9 March, the visa waiver for nationals of Hong Kong, Macau and South Korea is suspended. Also, effective 9 March, all arrivals in Japan (including Japanese nationals and residence card holders) from mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau or South Korea will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine. Planes from China and South Korea are only allowed to land at Narita and Kansai international airports.

No Comments

Post a Comment