Malaysia COVID – 19 Update

Effective 18 March until 31 March, entry will be suspended for all foreign nationals, including valid pass/permit holders. Malaysian citizens and permanent residence(PR) holders can enter but are subject to 14 days of self-quarantine. The same goes for the spouses and children of Malaysian citizens holding a Long-Term Social Visit Pass, foreign diplomats and their spouses and children. Malaysian citizens and PR holders who have a valid long-term residence permit for a third country can exit to that country but cannot return to Malaysia before 31 March. The same goes for all other foreign nationals. Malaysian citizens and PR holders, including those who hold work permits for Singapore or Thailand

Transit through Kuala Lumpur International airport, without going through an immigration checkpoint, is allowed. Malaysian citizens and PR holders transiting gat the Malaysian border with Brunei may be allowed to exit and enter at the discretion of the immigration authorities. In the same period, all immigration offices nationwide will be closed. The government has put on hold entry to Malaysia and the issuance of all types of entry visa, work permit and dependent permit from passports issued in Hubei, Zhejiang, Jiangsu and other nearby provinces, as well as travelers of all nationalities who have visited the affected regions of China in the last 14 days.

The entry and visa/permit issuance ban is also extended to nationals of South Korea, Italy, Japan and Iran, as well as to travelers who have visited the following regions in the previous 14 days: Daegu City and Cheongdo Country in South Korea; Lombardy, Veneto and Emilia-Romagna in Italy; Hokkaido in Japan; and Tehran, Qom and Gilan in Iran. Foreign Knowledge Workers (FKWs) from China whose Stage 1 approvals were granted before 30 January 2020 and have since entered Malaysia are subjected to a 14 days quarantine period before passports are submitted to MDEC’s e-Xpats Service Centre for endorsement purposes (Stage 2). The same rule is also applied to nationals and other FKWs who may have traveled to the affected areas in the Republic of Korea, Italy, Japan and Iran.

No Comments

Post a Comment