Russia COVID – 19 Update

On 19 March, the Ministry of Internal Affairs order its territorial divisions to extend visas and visa-free stays for up to 90 days, even if already expired. Administrative penalties will not be applied. Exit visas will also be issued if required.  Applications for corporate work permits, work permits and work patents will be accepted (without the need to cross the Russian border in the case of work patents). Temporary Residence Permits (TRP) and Permanent Residence Permits (PRP) will be extendable up to 90 days in case of expiry.  Biometric capture will be required for extensions of stay. Work permits, TRPs and PRPs will not be annulled even after the expiration of the six months term of person’s stay abroad if the document holder cannot enter Russia.

Effective 18 March until 1 May, entry is suspended for all foreign nationals, diplomats, employees of international organizations and their families, transport crews, permanent residents and passengers in airport transport. The Ministry of Internal Affairs has suspended the submission of documents, and the issuance of visa invitations and work permits. Acceptance of correction and extension applications depends on the office of application. Visa issuance is suspended at Russian consulates. Previously lodged applications may be issued or may be returned without issuance, depending on the consulate and the date of submission. Electronic visa issuance is also suspended. Foreign nationals are permitted to exit Russia, but will not be allowed to re-enter.

Effective immediately, anyone arriving from the following countries must inform the authorities of their arrival, provide contact details, and self-isolate for 14 days from the date of arrival (or for the whole time of their stay), even in the absence of symptoms: China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Germany, Spain, other EU member states, Serbia, Albania, UK, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro, Andorra, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, Monaco, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Belarus, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Vatican, San Marino, Croatia, USA.

Effective 14 March, employers are prohibited from allowing employees into their workplaces who have been placed under quarantine but have not yet completed the quarantine period. Individuals who cohabitate with those under quarantine have to self-isolate for 14 calendar days. Effective immediately, the Russian borders with Czech Republic, Ukraine, Poland, Norway and Belarus are closed for exit and entry. Rail traffic with Latvia, Moldova and Ukraine has been closed until further notice.

Temporary suspension of entry and issuance of work permits, invitation letters and visas has been extended to citizens of Italy, as well as foreign nationals resident in Italy, for training employment, private, tourist or transit purposes. Citizens of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and permanent residents of Russia are exempt. Also effective 13 March, air traffic is restricted between Russia and Italy France, Spain and Germany. All flights to and from these countries will be carried out by Aeroflot and limited to certain cities only. In particular, air communication between the Russian Federation and Italy will be carried out only along the Moscow-Rome route. For now, visa and work permit extensions for Italian nationals in Russia appears to be continuing as usual.

Foreign nationals other than citizens of the Eurasian Economic Union are suspended from entry to Russia if traveling from Iran. Russian authorities have temporarily suspended acceptance of applications and issuance of work, private, tourist and student visas, as well as work permits and visa invitations, to foreign nationals resident in Iran.

No Comments

Post a Comment